Not A Single Thing Could Make Me Leave…

Not a single thing could make me leave the country I love!

Not a single thing could make me leave the place I am most connected with!

Not a single thing could make me leave – no war, no government, no dictator!!!

Not a single thing could make me leave but…

Sounds crazy right? Well it’s not (well maybe I am a bit, but I hear it’s normal). I’m used to people who speak nicely, politely, kindly. I’m used to service representatives that are there because they want to help, and the moment you complain to their managers YOU KNOW they will be hearing about it. I’m used to people who don’t speak to you like you owe them something, but speak to you as a customer, as a human being.

In Israel there is this terrible¬†disrespect among society. Yesterday, I called my health care company for an appointment. I told them it was urgent and I needed it ASAP. The customer service representative told me she couldn’t give me such an appointment and it doesn’t matter that it was urgent, I needed to wait 2 weeks like everyone else to see my doctor. We spoke in Hebrew, and it was obvious I was Israeli- 37 minutes of arguing in Hebrew. And then after 4 times of her saying the same thing (thinking I wasn’t hearing her… my problem wasn’t in my ears BTW), I told her OK I am going to need a better option… I can’t stay like this. And she answers “You aren’t going to get your appointment! Not now, not ever!” So I hung up. Because she yelled at me. And that’s not nice.

I called back, and told them I didn’t speak Hebrew and needed to speak to a representative that knew English. They told me they would find someone and call me back. They called back and I put on my nice accent as if I didn’t know a word of Hebrew. Guess what I got within 4 minutes? An appointment for right now.

Not a single thing could make me leave the country I love. Not Bibi, not the traffic, not the wars- only the customer service representatives.

Leave a Reply

